I Want it All – MKMMA Week 22A

liz-lemon-i-can-have-it-all

We can have anything we want, but we can’t have everything we want all at the same time.

Bam! That hit me between the eyes. WHAT?
But I have a big ‘ol hairy list of everything I want to do, be and have in life and now that I’m in my 50’s I’m not sure I’ve even got the time to do, be or have it all. Who was it that said we can have it all? I must have missed the “not all at the same time” part.

The important piece that I got from this sentence is that because I have a tendency to take on lots of projects all at the same time, I am then scattered and don’t accomplish any of them well and I tend to get frantic. There’s truly only so many hours in a day, week, month…and those hours, minutes and seconds seem to be moving a lightning speed the older I get. (Truth is, we never know how much more time we have, but that’s for another blog).

Also…and this may be most important…taking on too many things at one time keeps me from becoming a Master at any one of them. I’m pretty good at many things but not excellent or masterful at any one thing. For me, I think it goes back to a ‘being responsible’ thing. If I’m scattered and frantic with lots to do, people understand if I’m flaky and don’t keep my promises, and that’s simply bull dookey!!!

So it’s time for me to focus. Time to take a stand and be committed to what I REALLY want to accomplish with whatever time I have left.

And so it is.

 

2 thoughts on “I Want it All – MKMMA Week 22A

  1. masterkeybrony

    Omg it is so true! I too can do many things all at once… I have a shop full of them!! Everyone comes in and goes..”wow! you do all this?” Wow! Yep I do… but now it is time to choose that which I most love doing and focus on that… So now to sit.. and listen to my inner voice. Love your post. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

